Awards & Engraving

October '18

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1023275

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 8 of 84

6 a-e-mag.com • A&E OCTOBER 2018 6 a-e-mag.com • A&E OCTOBER 2018 I n various conversations I've had with some folks around the industry, it never ceases to amaze me what's possible to achieve when it comes to decorating awards and personalized products. With so many technologies and blank substrates available, it seems that there is no limit to what an awards retailer can offer its customers. Take wood, for example. One of the industry's most well-known and traditional items, the wood plaque car- ries a sense of classic allure. Of course the traditional plaque plate can be engraved and added to this item, but today, there's so much more available: full-color printing, sandcarving, and even mixed media designs elevate wood plaques to a level that is unmatched. From inlays to appli- qués, it's no question as to whether or not you can provide something for everyone. Or even look at crystal. There's no denying that sandcarved crystal awards present beautifully, but now it's possible to do more — full-color printing and even laser engraving can be applied to take a crystal corporate award from good to great. Beyond traditional awards, there are so many cool gift items that can be deco- rated using today's technology. How many of you have read our Try This segment in A&E's eNewsletter? It often features neat projects such as sublimating cuff bracelets and door hangers to sandcarving tumblers. The question isn't what can you offer, but rather, what can't you offer? While you might be a specialist in laser engraving plaque plates for traditional awards, if your customer asks you to do some acrylic name badges, it wouldn't be tough considering you already have the equipment to do so. In this world of increasing demand to get everything in one convenient location, it's possible for awards retailers to keep up with just a little extra effort. And while it's ok to stay true to your niche roots, branching out here and there doesn't hurt. Chances are, most awards shops already do offer more than just their specialty, but do the customers know that? Many of the industry's voices, including Eric Priceman, advise that it's time to have a little show-and-tell: Show the customers what you do — display past projects or even samples for everyone to see. Take photographs for your website and social media accounts. Tell them that you have the means to create a product that's not like anyone else's. (Want more? Check out this link: bit.ly/ShowroomRules.) The next time someone comes in looking for a wood plaque, present the addi- tional opportunities and ideas; maybe your show-and-tell presentation will lead to more profit and a lifetime customer. Until next time. INSCRIPTIONS Volume 31, Number 9 PUBLISHER Dan Peckham — dpeckham@nbm.com EDITOR Cassie Green — cgreen@nbm.com ADVERTISING ACCOUNT EXECUTIVES Haleigh Erwin — herwin@nbm.com Shanna Rowley — srowley@nbm.com SALES SUPPORT Ryan Applebaum — rapplebaum@nbm.com ART & ADVERTISING DESIGN ART DIRECTOR Dayne Pillow PRINT ADVERTISING DESIGNER Kim M. Wright MULTIMEDIA PRODUCER Andrew Bennett EDITORIAL CONTRIBUTING WRITERS STEPHEN CAPPER, DON COPELAND, RUTH DOBBINS, JENNIFER FOY, MIKE FRUCIANO, MICHAEL PERRELLI, ERIC PRICEMAN, JIM PUENTES, JIM SADLER, SEAN STEWART DIGITAL CONTENT EDITOR Marley Jeranko — mjeranko@nbm.com NATIONAL BUSINESS MEDIA, INC. PRESIDENT & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. VICE PRESIDENT/FINANCE Kori Gonzales, CPA VICE PRESIDENT/INTEGRATED MEDIA John A. Bennett VICE PRESIDENT/PUBLISHING AND MARKETS Dave Pomeroy VICE PRESIDENT/AUDIENCE Lori Farstad DIRECTOR OF IT Wolf Butler a-e-mag.com VICE PRESIDENT/EVENTS Sue Hueg CEM, CMP — susan@nbm.com EXECUTIVE TRADE SHOW SALES MANAGER Brandy Jamison-Neth — brandy@nbm.com EXHIBITOR SERVICES Janet Cain — jcain@nbm.com Tyler Wigginton — twigginton@nbm.com WANT TO KNOW MORE? Visit our website at a-e-mag.com, where you can find tons of articles about the awards market plus all the latest news going on around the industry. And don't forget to check us out on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. Have a topic you want to discuss? Give me a call at 720-566-7278 or email me at cgreen@nbm.com. Show and Tell Cassie Green EDITOR

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Awards & Engraving - October '18