Printwear

Start Here October '18

For the Business of Apparel Decorating

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1037855

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 104

S T A R T H E R E 2 0 1 8 6 The First Step into a Larger Universe W elcome to Start Here, a magazine dedicated to providing valuable start-up information for graphics professionals looking to expand or branch out in their business. This magazine is brought to you by the creators of Printwear, A&E and Sign and Digital Graphics magazines, as well as the producers of THE NBM SHOW trade shows located across the country. In these pages we've collected articles that provide essential informa- tion about some of the hottest and most-popular production meth- ods for awards, decorated apparel, signs, digital graphics, promo- tional items and more. If you are looking for a new opportunity, then this magazine is for you. These entry-level guides will give you an idea of how long you need to train, what you need to buy, how much space you need and what you can produce. Each of the fields we discuss here is a proven profit center for many businesses across the country. But like any business, in order to be profitable, you have to know what you are getting into. In today's cut-throat business environment, it's important to keep expansion in mind. Knowing if it's the right time to act is the most important part. But how do you know? By having as much information as you can gather about your next possible mar- ket, the equipment and supplies needed and how to sell those products. The first and most important story you'll want to read is Vince DiCecco's article on creating or updating a business plan. A business plan will not only give you direction in your journey, but likely will also be a necessary step in securing financing to move forward. It will also make you focus on the less-dreamy scenarios of business, such as whether your shop can handle more work, who will learn to do that work and whether you have enough people to keep things running. There's a lot to consider before entering the water. And while diving in with both feet may sound like a bold strategy, this magazine can give you a good idea of just how deep that water is and whether you can handle the current. Thank you for picking up this issue of Start Here, and best of luck in your new ventures. PUBLISHERS Stacy Marshall – smarshall@nbm.com Dan Peckham – dpeckham@nbm.com James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com MANAGING EDITOR Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com CONTRIBUTING EDITORS Carly Hollman – chollman@nbm.com Ken Mergentime – kenm@nbm.com Cassie Green – cgreen@nbm.com ART DIRECTOR Linda Cranston GRAPHIC ARTIST Erik Wogen DIGITAL VERSIONS COORDINATOR Alison McDonald ADVERTISING ACCOUNT EXECUTIVES Desiree Delfrari – ddelfrari@nbm.com Haleigh Erwin – herwin@nbm.com Erin Geddis – egeddis@nbm.com Diane Gilbert – dgilbert@nbm.com Shanna Rowley – srowley@nbm.com Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Anna Stettler – astettler@nbm.com SALES SUPPORT Dana Korman – dkorman@nbm.com CONTRIBUTORS IN THIS ISSUE: Paula Aven Gladych; Erich Campbell; Becca Corona; Mike Clark; Ruth Dobbins; Vince DiCecco; Josh Ellsworth; Mike Fruciano; Bill Leek; Bill Schiffner; Shelley Widhalm; Lon Winters VICE PRESIDENT/EVENTS Sue Hueg CEM, CMP – susan@nbm.com SHOW SALES Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Katie Ditallo – kditallo@nbm.com Brandy Jamison-Neth – brandy@nbm.com EXHIBITOR SERVICES Janet Cain – Jcain@nbm.com Tyler Wigginton – Twigginton@nbm.com National Business Media, Inc. PRESIDENT & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. VICE PRESIDENT/INTEGRATED MEDIA John Bennett VICE PRESIDENT/FINANCE Kori Gonzales, CPA VICE PRESIDENT, PUBLISHING AND MARKETS Dave Pomeroy DIRECTOR OF TECHNICAL SERVICES Wolf Butler VICE PRESIDENT/AUDIENCE Lori Farstad

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Printwear - Start Here October '18