Sign & Digital Graphics

March '19

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1084126

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 233

6 • March 2019 • S I G N & D I G I T A L G R A P H I C S __________________________________________ Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com Editor Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire – tkindelspire@nbm.com Associate Editor Michael Clark – mclark@nbm.com __________________________________________ Art Director Linda Cranston Graphic Artist Iveth Gomez Multimedia Producers Brian Hauser Alison McDonald __________________________________________ Advertising Account Executives Erin Geddis – egeddis@nbm.com Diane Gilbert – dgilbert@nbm.com Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Dana Korman – dkorman@nbm.com __________________________________________ Contributors in this Issue: Paula Aven Gladych; Vince DiCecco; Ryan Fugler; Joshua Marquardt; Amanda McGrory- Dixon; Stephen Romaniello; Bill Schiffner; Andy Stonehouse; Shelley Widhalm; Rick Williams. ___________________________________________ Vice President/Events Sue Hueg CEM, CMP – susan@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Exhibitor Services Janet Cain – Jcain@nbm.com Tyler Wigginton – Twigginton@nbm.com ____________________________________________ National Business Media, Inc. President & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. Vice President/Integrated Media John Bennett Vice President/Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Vice President/Publishing and Markets Dave Pomeroy Vice President/Audience Lori Farstad Director of Technical Services Wolf Butler B Y M A T T D I X O N Vital Signs Two for One Got something to say? Join the S&DG Discussion Group at: Matt Dixon is the editor of Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com T he double-issue Recognized Industry Supplier Guide might be the most important issue of Sign & Digital Graphics we produce all year. The amount of information we pack into this thing makes it a must-have for sign and graphics shops. On top of our normal coverage for the month, this issue includes listings of our Recognized Industry Suppliers. There are more than 500 companies listed in here that are dedicated to getting you the supplies or services you need to succeed in this industry. These companies are vetted by our company, National Business Media, to be the kinds of companies that you can be confident in doing business with. In these pages we've listed what these companies do, broken up by different segments of the visual communications industry. We also have an alphabetical directory list- ing, which provides you all the information you need. I hope you'll keep this guide handy all year. Also in this issue, keep an eye out for: Caring for Acrylic Caring for acrylic is simple, but a sign shop should be careful not to use any harsh chemicals to clean it. Some people think they need a cleaning agent with ammonia or alcohol, but that can leave the appearance of cracks throughout the acrylic. Instead, mild, soapy water will clean the acrylic without leaving any damage. Page 88 Tip 1 Tip 2 Dye Sublimation If you've gone through all the work of creating a logo for a company, perhaps being able to apply that logo onto travel mugs, name tags and other promotional products is a logical next step. "Promotional items are really easy if you can do onesies and twosies. If you are doing a sign for a business, what promotional items could you make for their employees?" asks Brenna Walsh, communication specialist at JDS Industries in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Page 62 Tip 3 One-Man Show Rick Williams is often on his own out in the field, which is why it's important for him to break up jobs into parts that he can easily handle with just one person. "The concept at least is simple, and it wasn't long until I was cutting, drilling, fabricating and welding all the parts to make this substantial 'kit,' where every part of it would be assembled on the jobsite virtually solo," Williams says. Page 74

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - March '19