Sign & Digital Graphics

May '19

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1105924

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 88

6 • May 2019 • S I G N & D I G I T A L G R A P H I C S __________________________________________ Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com Editor Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire – tkindelspire@nbm.com Associate Editor Michael Clark – mclark@nbm.com __________________________________________ Art Director Linda Cranston Graphic Artist Iveth Gomez Multimedia Producers Brian Hauser Alison McDonald __________________________________________ Advertising Account Executives Erin Geddis – egeddis@nbm.com Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Dana Korman – dkorman@nbm.com __________________________________________ Contributors in this Issue: Paula Aven Gladych; Vince DiCecco; Scott Franko; Ryan Fugler; Charity Jackson; Amanda McGrory-Dixon; Stephen Romaniello; Bill Schiffner; Andy Stonehouse; Shelley Widhalm; Eddie Wieber; Rick Williams. ___________________________________________ Vice President/Events Sue Hueg CEM, CMP – susan@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Exhibitor Services Janet Cain – Jcain@nbm.com ____________________________________________ National Business Media, Inc. President & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. Vice President/Integrated Media John Bennett Vice President/Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Vice President/Publishing and Markets Dave Pomeroy Vice President/Audience Lori Farstad Director of Technical Services Wolf Butler Industry Relations Representative Diane Gilbert B Y M A T T D I X O N Vital Signs Banners, Inside and Out Got something to say? Join the S&DG Discussion Group at: Matt Dixon is the editor of Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com I n the signage industry, the most ubiquitous offering a sign shop sells is the banner. According to Sign & Digital Graphics' research, just shy of 100% of sign shops provide banners in some form or another. And with all that competition, it's not uncommon that shops feel like they make about a .00005% profit on each one sold. That's why when advancements happen in the banner industry, they tend to affect everyone. Perhaps a new printer is out that adds another hundred feet per hour to printing capability. Perhaps a new ink is able to hold its color under direct sunlight for 25% longer. Perhaps there's a new hanging system that weighs and costs 10% less than its previous iteration. There seems to be an endless number of options that you need to stay abreast of to make sure you are keeping up with the Joneses. In this issue, we look at one of the many areas in the banner industry that can change in an instant: the material from which they are made. On Banners The indoor/outdoor split in the banner world is mirrored by the type of product used. Vinyl materials are still king of the outdoors, while fabrics have taken over interior use. Page 40 Tip 1 Tip 2 On PPF Film vs. Wrap Film PPF is installed as a wet application, versus vinyl that is installed dry. It is placed on the vehicle in two main methods, either as a kit or as a bulk installation. Page 44 Tip 3 On Pricing Strategy There are four widely-practiced approaches to pricing your services: • Find the competition's price and match or beat it • Apply a desired gross margin to all products • Charge all the market can bear, or • Invent "the better mouse trap" and have customers beat a path to your door Page 28 Tip 4 On UV-LED Printing UV-LED printing machines can be used to complement other sign- making techniques made on other types of machinery. It can add a print to something that has been laser-engraved, for instance, or add full- color graphics or texture to a 3D sign. Page 54

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - May '19