Awards & Engraving

September '19

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1151801

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 8 of 84

6 a-e-mag.com • A&E SEPTEMBER 2019 6 a-e-mag.com • A&E SEPTEMBER 2019 W hat's your specialty, the thing that you do best? Is it engraving odd-shaped items such as baseball bats or tumblers? Maybe you've per- fected a superb full-color print on plaques. Perhaps your specialty is serving the corporate client, offering the best sandcarved glass awards around. Being the best at what you do is a talent that can take years to perfect, but it shows. People will return time and time again to your business simply to get that one item that no one else can do like you do. The satisfaction that comes with perfecting a skill is well-earned and deserved. It's important to be great at that one thing, that one specialty. But have you ever thought about adding some- thing else to the mix? You don't have to do everything — that can affect your ability to create a high-quality end product and often leads to burnout. However, it's not a bad idea to have multiple services to offer. Chances are, most of you already do that. Specialize in engraving sports tro- phies? You most likely also customize bag tags and cheer buttons. But what about some things you haven't thought of? For instance, small-format signage is something an awards shop can incorpo- rate in its offerings that doesn't require a lot of extra effort or money. Check out the feature on page 14 for more on that topic, or get specific by taking a look at ADA signage on page 8. If you're serious about taking the plunge to do something new, I also encourage you to take a look at our Product Focus spotlight this month (page 20). From new equipment to substrates releases it features the newest products on the awards and personalization scene. In this issue you'll also read about: • Venting is an important part of keeping your laser running properly, reducing breakdowns, and increasing the time between cleanings and maintenance, as well as maintaining the health of the staff. —Bob Hagel, page 26 • According to Pantone, a growing number of hotels, museums, restaurants, bars, and other public venues see the need to pay for and create more vibrant, photo-friendly interiors as the desire to have an Instagram-able space continues to grow. —Jennifer Foy, page 40 Until Next time. INSCRIPTIONS Volume 32, Number 8 PUBLISHER Dan Peckham — dpeckham@nbm.com EDITOR Cassie Green — cgreen@nbm.com ADVERTISING ACCOUNT EXECUTIVES Haleigh Erwin — herwin@nbm.com Shanna Rowley — srowley@nbm.com SALES SUPPORT Ryan Applebaum — rapplebaum@nbm.com ART & ADVERTISING DESIGN ART DIRECTOR Dayne Pillow PRINT ADVERTISING DESIGNER Kim M. Wright MULTIMEDIA PRODUCER Brian Hauser EDITORIAL CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Jennifer Anthony, Stephen Capper, Ruth Dobbins, Jennifer Foy, Bob Hagel, Cheryl Kuchek, Braden Todd, Colin VanLint, Doug Zender DIGITAL CONTENT EDITOR Julia Schroeder — jschroeder@nbm.com NATIONAL BUSINESS MEDIA, INC. PRESIDENT & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. VICE PRESIDENT/FINANCE Kori Gonzales, CPA VICE PRESIDENT/INTEGRATED MEDIA John A. Bennett VICE PRESIDENT/PUBLISHING AND MARKETS Dave Pomeroy VICE PRESIDENT/AUDIENCE Lori Farstad DIRECTOR OF TECHNICAL SERVICES Wolf Butler a-e-mag.com VICE PRESIDENT/EVENTS Sue Hueg CEM, CMP — susan@nbm.com EXECUTIVE TRADE SHOW SALES MANAGER Brandy Jamison-Neth — brandy@nbm.com EXHIBITOR SERVICES Janet Cain — jcain@nbm.com Joie Martin — jmartin@nbm.com WANT TO KNOW MORE? Visit our website at a-e-mag.com, where you can find tons of articles about the awards market plus all the latest news going on around the industry. And don't forget to check us out on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. Have a topic you want to discuss? Give me a call at 720-566-7278 or email me at cgreen@nbm.com. What You Do Best Cassie Green EDITOR

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Awards & Engraving - September '19