Sign & Digital Graphics

September '19

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1159106

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 87

6 • September 2019 • S I G N & D I G I T A L G R A P H I C S __________________________________________ Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com Editor Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire – tkindelspire@nbm.com Associate Editor Michael Clark – mclark@nbm.com __________________________________________ Art Director Linda Cranston Graphic Artist Iveth Gomez Multimedia Producers Brian Hauser Alison McDonald __________________________________________ Advertising Account Executives Erin Geddis – egeddis@nbm.com Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Miles Higginbotham mhigginbotham@nbm.com __________________________________________ Contributors in this Issue: Paula Aven Gladych; Alex Frederick; Ryan Fugler; Ginny Mumm; Bill Schiffner; Andy Stonehouse; Shelley Widhalm; Rick Williams ___________________________________________ Vice President, NBM Events Sue Hueg CEM, CMP – susan@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Event Services Manager Jackie Ramsier – Jramsier@nbm.com Event Services Coordinators Janet Cain – Jcain@nbm.com Joie Martin – Jmartin@nbm.com ____________________________________________ National Business Media, Inc. President Dave Pomeroy Vice President / Audience Lori Farstad Vice President / Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Vice President / Media & Development John Bennett Director of Technical Services Wolf Butler CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. Industry Relations Representative Diane Gilbert B Y M A T T D I X O N Vital Signs How Far Can Textiles Take You? Got something to say? Join the SDG Discussion Group at: Matt Dixon is the editor of Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com S ome of the most interesting technological advancements in the current graphics market are coming from the textile realm. The printers, inks and even the fabrics are getting easier to use, and the variety of ways to deploy these fabrics in marketing campaigns seems limitless. Part of the attraction of fabrics to your clients is the premium look and feel. And with a premium look comes a premium price you can charge. While jumping into the printed-fabric market isn't a decision you can make in an instant, we've put together some articles this month to help you understand what getting into that market might mean. On Page 44, read about some of the end uses of printed textiles and how you can gain new clients because of them. And on Page 50, look into the printers themselves and how they would fit into your shop. On Rough-Surface Installation Brick, stucco and other rough surfaces are no longer impossible to adhere vinyl to, as long as you follow the installation rules. Page 54 Tip 1 Tip 2 On Laser Engraving The laser engraver has opened numerous markets for sign makers. If you already have one of these machines, it's possible you aren't getting as much mileage out of it as you can. Page 14 Tip 3 On Installing LED Systems Making the right decision about installing a 12V or 24V LED system can help you make sure you have exactly the right solution for your sign lighting project. Page 68 Tip 4 On Awnings The awning is one of the most common places to need signage, but placing graphics onto a structure that is meant to bake in the sun all day isn't always that easy. Page 20

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - September '19