Sign & Digital Graphics

October '19

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1169499

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 88

6 • October 2019 • S I G N & D I G I T A L G R A P H I C S __________________________________________ Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com Editor Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire – tkindelspire@nbm.com Associate Editor Michael Clark – mclark@nbm.com __________________________________________ Art Director Linda Cranston Graphic Artist Iveth Gomez Multimedia Producers Alison McDonald __________________________________________ Media Consultants Erin Geddis – egeddis@nbm.com Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Miles Higginbotham mhigginbotham@nbm.com __________________________________________ Contributors in this Issue: Maureen Damato; Vince DiCecco; Alex Frederick; Paula Aven Gladych; Alex Frederick; Ryan Fugler; Charity Jackson; Jim Lambert; Bill Schiffner; Shelley Widhalm; Rick Williams ___________________________________________ Vice President, NBM Events Sue Hueg CEM, CMP – susan@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Event Services Manager Jackie Ramsier – Jramsier@nbm.com Event Services Coordinators Janet Cain – Jcain@nbm.com Joie Martin – Jmartin@nbm.com ____________________________________________ National Business Media, Inc. President Dave Pomeroy Vice President / Audience Lori Farstad Vice President / Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Vice President / Media & Development John Bennett Director of Technical Services Wolf Butler CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. Industry Relations Representative Diane Gilbert B Y M A T T D I X O N Vital Signs Caveat Emptor Got something to say? Join the SDG Discussion Group at: Matt Dixon is the editor of Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com E veryone knows the phrase, "buyer beware." Customers like to quote that to you all day long if they think they aren't getting some kind of deal. But for shop owners, that phrase is aimed specifically at the materials you use for your jobs. I recently was able to moderate a panel of wraps experts at WRAPSCON in Long Beach, California, and among the many items that came up was the need to stop trying to save a buck by using inferior materials. It's understandable to want to trim as much off the bottom line as possible, but the panel overwhelmingly agreed that you do yourself a disservice by going cheap and hoping for the best. The list of things that can go wrong is far longer than the bonuses you gain if everything goes right. What's worse is that you could end up exacerbat- ing the very problems you were trying to solve. Looking to save time and money? You aren't going to save time if you have to do the job twice, using materials that are more difficult to install. And you aren't going to save money if you have to use twice as much material. And if the print looks terrible, what's the point of any of this? Of course, I'm probably preaching to the choir here, but just in case there's any- one who hasn't learned this the hard way yet, consider this a gentle reminder. In this month's issue, on page 68 we cover a lot of the newest features on today's wrap films meant to make your installs quicker and easier. And I almost guarantee these features won't be found on the cheap stuff. On Magnets Magnets are a growing market for sign shops for two main reasons. First, shops are figuring out new ways to deploy them. Second, tech- nology is making them easier than ever to use. Page 20 Tip 1 Tip 2 On Pricing Think twice before cutting your prices. Despite the temptation to increase sales, just upping your volume won't necessarily mean long- term success for your company. Page 28 Tip 3 On Fleet Vehicles Communication is the key to maintaining relationships, and rela- tionships are very important when working on fleet wraps. It's amazing how many companies overlook the simple act of answer- ing the phone. Page 65

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - October '19