Sign & Digital Graphics

November '19

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1177898

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 72

6 • November 2019 • S I G N & D I G I T A L G R A P H I C S B Y M A T T D I X O N Vital Signs I Love it When a Plan Comes Together Got something to say? Join the SDG Discussion Group at: Matt Dixon is the editor of Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com I think the saying goes "Failure to plan is planning to fail." Seems like most people attribute that quote to Ben Franklin, but it wouldn't shock me if I saw it on some internet meme below a picture of The Karate Kid's Mr. Miyagi. In the sign world, planning is everything. Because of the permitting process, good things rarely just happen at the last minute. It's a fine juggling act to get your per- mitting done, your off-site construction finished and your on-site preparation com- plete, as well as the timely prayer that the company you rented the heavy equip- ment from will show up on time with the exact rig you requested. As Matt Charboneau details on page 14 this month, having a consistent plan will go a long way in making sure you aren't letting a key step fall through the cracks. And the more you repeat that plan, the more second nature it becomes, to the point where you've turned a solid plan into a formed habit. That being said, things will still go wrong. But that just allows me to bring up one of Ben Franklin's lesser known but always practical quotes: "Do not fear mistakes. You will know failure. Continue to reach out." Make a plan to also check out these stories in this month's issue: On Wayfinding The facility will dictate how much wayfinding signage is needed to be deployed. Your client may not like what they hear when you have to quote a difficult building layout. Page 24 Tip 1 Tip 2 On Trade Show Displays Innovations in lightweight, flexible and long-lasting trade show dis- play units have led to more competition among wholesalers. Do your research and you'll find innovative, entirely portable products for your clients. Page 30 Tip 3 On Customer Expectations Communication is key. Accurately explaining to your clients what to expect before, during and after the vehicle wrap process will make things go more smoothly for you and them. Page 38 Tip 4 On Window Graphics Custom window graphics can heighten a business or product appearance to potential customers with news of promotions, sales, store hours, new inventory, or branding. Page 33 Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com Editor Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire – tkindelspire@nbm.com Associate Editor Mike Clark – mclark@nbm.com ________________________________________________ Art Director Linda Cranston Graphic Artist Iveth Gomez Multimedia Producer Alison McDonald ________________________________________________ Media Consultants Erin Geddis – egeddis@nbm.com Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Sara Dorheim-Davis -- sddavis@nbm.com Industry Relations Representative Diane Gilbert ________________________________________________ Contributors in this Issue: Matt Charboneau; Paula Aven Gladych; Scott Franko; Ryan Fugler; Trey Matula; Bill Schiffner; Andy Stonehouse; Shelley Widhalm; Rick Williams. ________________________________________________ Event Manager Jackie Ramsier – jramsier@nbm.com Customer Experience Manager Katie Kockler – kkockler@nbm.com Marketing Manager Becca Corona – rcorona@nbm.com Training Coordinator Antoinette Vernon – avernon@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Exhibitor Services Janet Cain – jcain@nbm.com Joie Martin – jmartin@nbm.com ________________________________________________ National Business Media, Inc. President Dave Pomeroy Vice President/Media and Development John Bennett Vice President/Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Director of Technical Services Wolf Butler Vice President/Audience & Events Lori Farstad Owner & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - November '19