Sign & Digital Graphics

December '19

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1185608

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 72

6 • December 2019 • S I G N & D I G I T A L G R A P H I C S B Y M A T T D I X O N Vital Signs Gift-Giving Season Got something to say? Join the SDG Discussion Group at: Matt Dixon is the editor of Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com D ecember is a rough month for business. In a world where com- munication has become almost instantaneous, things seem to slow down in December. Is this client open during the holidays? Is our main contact on vacation? How much time do I have to add to the permit approval process? Of the 20 balls you're juggling to get your work finished, a good number of them are probably going to be delayed in some way because of holiday plans by someone in the long chain necessary to get each job done. But it's not all bad. The end of the year can also be a good time to find some deals on new equipment for your shop with the added bonus of maybe getting an extra tax break or two depending where you live. So, this gift-giving season, what can you add to your shop to make your life better in some way for the coming new year? If you're like me and visit many trade shows a year, you probably already have a good idea of what new toys are out there and how they can really change the focus of your shop. As much as I'd like to go into some of my favorites, I only have a little space to work with. But I will say that the tools I personally like the most are the ones that allow you to do more with less. Whether it's saving ink, limiting how much storage space you need, cutting down on delivery charges by switching to lighter materials or just limiting the amount of waste you put in the trash, I hope your shop gets to unwrap something this year that will allow you to cut costs and increase profits next year. Things to unwrap in this issue: On LED Sign Maintenance Keeping an eye on that power supply installation can eliminate one of the biggest pain points when it comes to keeping your LED sign running smoothly. Page 28 Tip 1 Tip 2 On the Latest Printers This year's wide-format printer update features 10 pages of the most advanced ink-slinging devices on the market. No matter what your printing needs are, this chart will feature one that will fit the bill. Page 37 Tip 3 On Interior Wayfinding Signs Braille on interior directional signage is a must, but there's no one way you have to use to create Braille signs. Find the way that works best for you and your current workflow. Page 16 Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com Editor Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire – tkindelspire@nbm.com Associate Editor Mike Clark – mclark@nbm.com ________________________________________________ Art Director Linda Cranston Graphic Artist Iveth Gomez Multimedia Producer Alison McDonald ________________________________________________ Media Consultants Erin Geddis – egeddis@nbm.com Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Sara Dorheim-Davis -- sddavis@nbm.com Industry Relations Representative Diane Gilbert ________________________________________________ Contributors in this Issue: Matt Charboneau; Vince DiCecco; Paula Aven Gladych; Ryan Fugler; Bill Schiffner; Andy Stonehouse; Shelley Widhalm; Rick Williams. ________________________________________________ Event Manager Jackie Ramsier – jramsier@nbm.com Customer Experience Manager Katie Kockler – kkockler@nbm.com Marketing Manager Becca Corona – rcorona@nbm.com Training Coordinator Antoinette Vernon – avernon@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Exhibitor Services Janet Cain – jcain@nbm.com Joie Martin – jmartin@nbm.com ________________________________________________ National Business Media, Inc. President Dave Pomeroy Vice President/Media and Development John Bennett Vice President/Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Director of Technical Services Wolf Butler Vice President/Audience & Events Lori Farstad Owner & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - December '19