Awards & Engraving

January '20

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1189104

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 8 of 84

6 a-e-mag.com • A&E JANUARY 2020 6 a-e-mag.com • A&E JANUARY 2020 W hile attending one of the 2019 NBM SHOWs, I had an encounter with an attendee that left me excited. I always love attending these shows because not only do I get to see all the technology in action, but I love chatting with our readers about what they do, where they're from, and what we can cover in the magazine that will help them improve their businesses. In this particular instance, I asked the attendee what brought him to THE NBM SHOW. He replied that he had seen some educational videos on the A&E website (a-e-mag. com) and wanted to come to the show to learn more and purchase some equipment. That initial response really stuck with me for a couple reasons. First, to hear that someone found videos on our site that are helpful was awesome. Our goal is to educate readers on the various industry techniques. Whether it's laser engraving, sandcarving, sublimation, UV printing, or something else, when you read our publication, you will find some of the best educational content out there. Second, to hear that this reader took action was encouraging. He didn't stop at that one video. He wanted to learn more. His primary business was sublimation, so he came to attend classes, meet other producers, and learn more about the technology. Third, when he came to THE NBM SHOW, he knew he'd get more than a demo with a sublimation printer and heat press. He knew he'd find blank substrates, inks, and people who could help him utilize these tools to the maximum potential. The added bonus is you get more than just one technology at these shows — you can also see what else is out there. As we charge into the 2020 season, don't forget to check out THE NBM SHOW schedule at www.THENBMSHOW.com so you don't miss out on opportunities to learn and network. And while you're waiting for the next stop on the schedule, get ready for another great year of helpful content from A&E. Start with this issue, which features a variety of topics: • "Customized home décor is really an offshoot of current interior design trends that began a few years ago. There's been a shift from a postmodern interior aesthetic to a more rustic and eclectic look that was driven by interior design TV shows. The ability to personalize items makes them all the more unique." —George Privateer, page 8 • "Without knowing what the actual cost to make (something) is, you could make the mistake of doubling your blank product cost and losing money on every order." —Aaron Montgomery, page 26 • "Though it may not be monopolizing the spotlight these days, rotary/mechanical engraving remains one of the most versatile and effective marking methods available and is still highly relevant to today's industries." —Chris West, page 60 Until next time. INSCRIPTIONS Volume 32, Number 12 PUBLISHER Dan Peckham — dpeckham@nbm.com EDITOR Cassie Green — cgreen@nbm.com ADVERTISING MEDIA CONSULTANTS Haleigh Erwin — herwin@nbm.com Shanna Rowley — srowley@nbm.com SALES SUPPORT Jeff Wemmell — jwemmell@nbm.com ART & ADVERTISING DESIGN ART DIRECTOR Dayne Pillow PRINT ADVERTISING DESIGNER Kim M. Wright MULTIMEDIA PRODUCER Sharon Dzilvelis EDITORIAL CONTRIBUTING WRITERS STEPHEN CAPPER, RUTH DOBBINS, BOB HAGEL, CHERYL KUCHEK, KEVIN LUMBERG, AARON MONTGOMERY, SARAH MONTREUIL, WARD STEWART, RACHEL TINDAL, CHRIS WEST, DOUG ZENDER DIGITAL CONTENT EDITOR Julia Schroeder — jschroeder@nbm.com NATIONAL BUSINESS MEDIA, INC. PRESIDENT Dave Pomeroy VICE PRESIDENT / AUDIENCE & EVENTS Lori Farstad VICE PRESIDENT / FINANCE Kori Gonzales, CPA VICE PRESIDENT / MEDIA & DEVELOPMENT John A. Bennett DIRECTOR OF TECHNICAL SERVICES Wolf Butler CEO & OWNER Robert H. Wieber, Jr. a-e-mag.com EVENT MANAGER Jackie Ramsier — jramsier@nbm.com EXECUTIVE TRADE SHOW SALES MANAGER Brandy Jamison-Neth — brandy@nbm.com EXHIBITOR SERVICES Joie Martin — jmartin@nbm.com WANT TO KNOW MORE? Visit our website at a-e-mag.com, where you can find tons of articles about the awards market plus all the latest news going on around the industry. And don't forget to check us out on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. Have a topic you want to discuss? Give me a call at 720-566-7278 or email me at cgreen@nbm.com. More Than a Video Cassie Green EDITOR

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Awards & Engraving - January '20