Awards & Engraving

March '20

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1207608

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 67

6 a-e-mag.com • A&E MARCH 2020 6 a-e-mag.com • A&E MARCH 2020 D espite January being the official start of the New Year, it always seems that the real feelings of new beginnings don't set in until sometime around March. Perhaps it's the first whisperings of spring or the fact that most people have finally adjusted to writing a new year/date after a couple months of crossing out the old one. For me personally, March is always a fun issue because it seems a lot of new things happen in the A&E world. For example, we have a Product Focus feature that showcases the freshest finds and hot releases around the industry (hint: you should definitely add these products to your lineup). March of 2018 also happens to be when we launched our new logo, and in this year's issue, we introduce a new columnist (check out the table of contents to find out who if you didn't see it already). The feelings of "new" bring about a breath of fresh air. You feel revived, rein- vigorated, ready to face whatever challenge. It's a good feeling and one that we'd like to help you continue throughout the year. Even when the heat of summer threatens your shop's AC, when the approaching holiday season makes you feel frenzied, A&E is here to remind you to take a deep breath. By continuing to highlight fresh products, innovative techniques, and new faces, we keep you on top of the business game so that you can enjoy that feeling of calm year-round. See for yourself by checking out this issue: • "If you really understand the basics of how sublimation works, and the variables that affect the image clarity, you can dial in your sublimation processes and get clear images that rival any other technology available for custom decoration." —Kevin Lumberg, page 8 • "Someone once told me that growing a business is like growing a garden — each year one creates a new plan that is based on the current soil and growing conditions. Soon the seeds are planted, and one begins to cultivate the garden." —Donna Gray, page 24 • "Have you taken the time to look at how much it costs you to get setup and sell to a new customer versus what it costs to make a second, third, or more sales to your existing customers?" —Aaron Montgomery, page 34 • "The great thing with a rotary engraving machine is that 'if you can hold it, you can engrave it.' Because you have the choice of so many different cutters and diamonds, you shouldn't be limited to what you can engrave, or what you can offer to your customers." —Elisha Spector, page 46 Until next time. INSCRIPTIONS Volume 33, Number 1 PUBLISHER Dan Peckham — dpeckham@nbm.com EDITOR Cassie Green — cgreen@nbm.com ADVERTISING MEDIA CONSULTANT Shanna Rowley — srowley@nbm.com SALES SUPPORT Jeff Wemmell — jwemmell@nbm.com ART & ADVERTISING DESIGN ART DIRECTOR Dayne Pillow PRINT ADVERTISING DESIGNER Kim M. Wright MULTIMEDIA PRODUCER Sharon Dzilvelis EDITORIAL CONTRIBUTING WRITERS VINCE DICECCO, DONNA GRAY, BOB HAGEL, CHERYL KUCHEK, KEVIN LUMBERG, AARON MONTGOMERY, BRADEN TODD, DOUG ZENDER DIGITAL CONTENT EDITOR Julia Schroeder — jschroeder@nbm.com NATIONAL BUSINESS MEDIA, INC. PRESIDENT Dave Pomeroy VICE PRESIDENT / AUDIENCE & EVENTS Lori Farstad VICE PRESIDENT / FINANCE Kori Gonzales, CPA DIRECTOR OF TECHNICAL SERVICES Wolf Butler CEO & OWNER Robert H. Wieber, Jr. a-e-mag.com EVENT MANAGER Jackie Ramsier — jramsier@nbm.com EXECUTIVE TRADE SHOW SALES MANAGER Brandy Jamison-Neth — brandy@nbm.com EXHIBITOR SERVICES Joie Martin — jmartin@nbm.com WANT TO KNOW MORE? Visit our website at a-e-mag.com, where you can find tons of articles about the awards market plus all the latest news going on around the industry. And don't forget to check us out on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. Have a topic you want to discuss? Give me a call at 720-566-7278 or email me at cgreen@nbm.com. A Breath of Fresh Air Cassie Green EDITOR

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Awards & Engraving - March '20