Sign & Digital Graphics

April '20

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/1222254

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 69

4 • A P R I L 2 0 2 0 • S I G N & D I G I T A L G R A P H I C S Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar – ruggs@nbm.com Editor Matt Dixon – mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire – tkindelspire@nbm.com Associate Editor Mike Clark – mclark@nbm.com ________________________________________________ Art Director Linda Cranston –linda@nbm.com Graphic Artist Iveth Gomez – ivethgomez@nbm.com Multimedia Producer Alison McDonald – amcdonald@nbm.com ________________________________________________ Media Consultant Sara Siauw – ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Sara Dorheim-Davis – sddavis@nbm.com ________________________________________________ Contributors in this Issue: Vince DiCecco; Paula Aven Gladych; Ryan Fugler; Stephen Romaniello; Bill Schiffner; Andy Stonehouse; Shelley Widhalm; Rick Williams. ________________________________________________ The NBM SHOWS Event Manager Jackie Ramsier – jramsier@nbm.com Customer Experience Manager Katie Kockler – kkockler@nbm.com Marketing Manager Becca Corona – rcorona@nbm.com Training Coordinator Antoinette Vernon – avernon@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta – dcincotta@nbm.com Exhibitor Services Janet Cain – jcain@nbm.com Joie Martin – jmartin@nbm.com ________________________________________________ National Business Media, Inc. President Dave Pomeroy Vice President/Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Director of Content Regan Dickinson Director of Technical Services Wolf Butler Vice President/Audience & Events Lori Farstad Owner & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. Like us on Facebook: facebook.com/signanddigitalgraphics Follow us on Instagram: instagram.com/signanddigitalgraphics Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/signanddigitalgraphics Virtual Signmaking Matt Dixon is the editor of Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com L ike any other industry, the sign and graphics market is pushed by technology. These days, if you're out in the field doing your site survey to determine a job estimate, just remember as you're tak- ing your photos and your measurements that it's very likely there is some kind of phone ap or computer program to help streamline that process. I get it. The old ways work. They have for years. So, why mess with a good thing? Because you're up against people who don't rely on the old ways. They are getting more done with their survey photos. They are getting their estimates done faster. They are giving potential clients mock-ups to consider before you have even returned to the office to upload your information. As you constantly battle to be the best shop around, remember that it's not just big equipment that determines how effective your shop can be. Sometimes it's just a small button on your phone screen. Be sure to check out our story on augmented sign planning this month on page 44. On Eco-Solvent Printers Eco-solvent inks still present the most versatile opportunities for general graphics envisioned for indoor or outdoor use. Probably more than half of all wide-format print providers today still use either eco-solvent or solvent printer and ink technology. Page 8 Tip 1 Tip 2 On Routing Architectural Signage Having a router is "perfect whenever there is a lot of versatility in what you are making because the scope of what the CNC router can cut is pretty big compared to other machinery out there," says Laguna Tools' Jason Friesen. Page 26 Tip 3 On LED Technology LEDs have constantly improved upon their earlier designs, as well as over other similar lighting alternatives. Manufacturers have evolved their products to meet the market's needs without sacrificing quality. Page 21 Vital Signs B Y M A T T D I X O N Tip 4 On Non-Vehicle Wraps Many shops pride themselves on their ability to wrap anything. While there are still some rules that you need to follow to make every installation a success, there are very few limitations to what can't be wrapped in some way these days. Page 36

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - April '20