Awards & Engraving

April '18

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/948420

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 8 of 100

6 a-e-mag.com • A&E APRIL 2018 H ow many of you have seen the popular TV show "How It's Made"? I always find it fascinating to see how different items are created, but almost never stop to think about why it's made… The past couple columns I've written discussed the article, "Eight Rules for Presenting and Accepting Awards," by Dale Carnegie. His first rule for presenting the award is simply, "Tell why the award is made." Think of the popular awards shows such as the Oscars or the SAG Awards—isn't it clear to the audience as well as viewers at home what they're watching? For those receiving an award, shouldn't they already know why it was made and for what purpose? How many people just gloss over this important part? It's easy to brush off the history behind an award. Think about an occasion when you were recognized with an award: did you simply smile, say, "Thanks," and move on? Or did you wonder why you were chosen and what this particular honor means? So often the history of the award is just as important as the award itself. Without an understanding of what the award is, why it was created, and why you are receiving it, the recognition becomes meaningless. It's about the award, yes, but it's also about the act of recognition. His second rule in presenting awards is, "Tell something of the group's interest in the life and activities of the person to be honored." Rule one and two are closely tied together. Once you've explained why an award is made, you as the presenter should explain why the recipient falls under that scope. It wouldn't make sense for me to receive an Oscar — my acting skills are subpar … at best. I've done nothing to deserve that award. As the awards crafters, it can be easy to get caught up in the "job" aspect: get the order, ask a few questions, process it in a timely fashion, and return it to the customer. How many times have you stopped to think about the history of the award, or why it might be presented to a deserving recipient? It's not realistic to know every detail about every order, but that personal con- nection often helps us appreciate what we do that much more. Knowing why an award was made adds a little joy to our lives — after all, the majority of awards are presented to recognize the good in life. And if you ever have the privilege to present an award, keeping these two speaking points in mind will serve you well. You may even bring a tear or two from the audience. Until next time. INSCRIPTIONS Volume 31, Number 2 PUBLISHER Dan Peckham — dpeckham@nbm.com EDITOR Cassie Green — cgreen@nbm.com ADVERTISING ACCOUNT EXECUTIVES Haleigh Erwin — herwin@nbm.com Shanna Rowley — srowley@nbm.com SALES SUPPORT Ryan Applebaum — rapplebaum@nbm.com ART & ADVERTISING DESIGN ART DIRECTOR Dayne Pillow PRINT ADVERTISING DESIGNER Kim M. Wright MULTIMEDIA PRODUCER Andrew Bennett EDITORIAL CONTRIBUTING WRITERS STEPHEN CAPPER, RUTH DOBBINS, JENNIFER FOY, KEVIN LUMBERG, ERIC PRICEMAN, JIM PUENTES, JIM SADLER, SEAN STEWART DIGITAL CONTENT EDITOR Marley Jeranko — mjeranko@nbm.com NATIONAL BUSINESS MEDIA, INC. PRESIDENT & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. VICE PRESIDENT/FINANCE Kori Gonzales, CPA VICE PRESIDENT/INTEGRATED MEDIA John A. Bennett VICE PRESIDENT/PUBLISHING AND MARKETS Dave Pomeroy VICE PRESIDENT/AUDIENCE Lori Farstad DIRECTOR OF IT Wolf Butler a-e-mag.com VICE PRESIDENT/EVENTS Sue Hueg CEM, CMP — susan@nbm.com EXECUTIVE TRADE SHOW SALES MANAGER Brandy Jamison-Neth — brandy@nbm.com EXHIBITOR SERVICES Lawrence Stern — lstern@nbm.com WANT TO KNOW MORE? Visit our website at a-e-mag.com, where you can find tons of articles about the awards market plus all the latest news going on around the industry. And don't forget to check us out on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. Have a topic you want to discuss? Give me a call at 720-566-7278 or email me at cgreen@nbm.com. Why It's Made Cassie Green EDITOR

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Awards & Engraving - April '18