Sign & Digital Graphics

WRAPS '18

Issue link: https://nbm.uberflip.com/i/990665

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 90

6 • WRAPS • 2 0 1 8 W elcome to this year's edition of WRAPS magazine, the top publication covering the wraps market. It's often easy for us to get caught up in the ashy details of the wraps industry, especially considering all of the cool work that is being done around the country. The general population is slowly catching on about how a vehicle wrap is within their budget and how their vehicles, walls and oors can be customized in excruciating detail to either perfectly promote a product or show off their own personality. But it's the non-ashy, dirty stuff that keeps the shop running and the customers coming back. There's nothing sexy or award-winning about post-wrap followup with your customers, but if you believe that repeat business and customer referrals are im- portant (and I sure hope you do) then your customer service needs to be as on point as your installation or design skills. A good rule of thumb is to go into every potential wrap project thinking of it as less of a week-long job and more of a three-to-ve-year relationship. I hope you aren't afraid of commitment. Remember that every job you send out of that garage is not only an advertisement for your client, but also for your shop. It's the biggest busi- ness card you can ask for. And every time someone sees that vehicle or retail display, you are going to be judged. Setting the expectations with a client is very important. We live in a world where it's necessary to put a warning label on ovens that say "Cau- tion: Hot," so it's best to assume every customer is going to test just how hot. If your customers know what they are getting into from the beginning, the odds of them be- ing dissatised will decrease. We're in the business of promoting the best potential of our work, but be careful when selling the sizzle instead of the steak so that you don't set yourself up for a situation where reality can't compare to your sales pitch. You can spend months building up a library of fantastic images to show off on Instagram or Facebook, only to be undone by one unsatised customer with a grudge over a problem of their own making. After you've completed a wrap, it's important to give your clients every tool they'll need to maintain it. Perhaps they just need information, but in some cases you may want to give them a good example of the perfect cleaner to use. If your customer leaves your shop unsure of the best way to keep a fantastic shine on their freshly wrapped ve- hicle, you can bet the rst thing they will reach for will be some carnauba wax and steel wool. Because of course they will. And guess who's going to get the blame after they do? This is why it's important to get everything down in writing. The customer brought the car in with damage that can't be wrapped over? Get them to acknowledge it. They want a special vinyl that isn't recommended for their intended use? Get them to ac- knowledge it. They want you to wrap an '80s Pontiac Sunbird that's guaranteed to lose every last bit of factory paint if the wrap is removed? Get them to acknowledge it. The paperwork you do today will be your lifeline tomorrow. Your time with your client is limited, so use that time to make sure they are learning how best to make their wrap – your wrap – continue to be the best representation of what your shop has to offer. Thanks for checking out this year's WRAPS magazine, and here's to another year of your clients being your best sales reps. VITAL SIGNS "Caution: Hot" Matt Dixon is the managing editor of WRAPS and Sign & Digital Graphics magazine. He can be reached at mdixon@nbm.com __________________________________________ Publisher James "Ruggs" Kochevar ruggs@nbm.com Executive Editor Ken Mergentime kenm@nbm.com Managing Editor Matt Dixon mdixon@nbm.com Digital Content Editor Tony Kindelspire tkindelspire@nbm.com Art Director Erik Wogen Graphic Artist Linda Cranston Digital Versions Coordinator Andrew Bennett Advertising Account Executives Erin Geddis egeddis@nbm.com Diane Gilbert dgilbert@nbm.com Sara Siauw ssiauw@nbm.com Sales Support Dana Korman dkorman@nbm.com Contributors in this Issue: Craig Campbell Ryan Fugler Jen Carney Luis Tirado Dallas Fowler Shelly Widhalm Vice President/Events Sue Hueg CEM, CMP susan@nbm.com Show Sales Damon Cincotta dcincotta@nbm.com Exhibitor Services Janet Cain jcain@nbm.com Tyler Wigginton twigginton@nbm.com NATIONAL BUSINESS MEDIA, INC. President & CEO Robert H. Wieber Jr. Vice President/Integrated Media John Bennett Vice President/Finance Kori Gonzales, CPA Vice President/Publishing and Markets Dave Pomeroy Director of IT Wolf Butler Vice President/Audience Lori Farstad B Y M A T T D I X O N

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Sign & Digital Graphics - WRAPS '18